A poem that secretly spoke to me

Rachel Dangermond on To Die Next To you

Rodger read After the Flood, one of the more hauntingly beautiful poems in this collection. And oddly, it was not written after the 2005 Federal Flood, but years before. And when he was done, I had him sign my copy on a page that has a poem that I felt secretly spoke to me – much like the flood he hadn’t met yet. It is Miniature Elegy:

Her hair now is a memory of what her hair was.
As her smile now treasures all her smiles.
There is nothing like her, but what she has lost.
There is nothing like her, but her lost her.

And therein lies the poem that will be nailed to the door, not the final nail in my coffin nor the final nail in my brand new frame, but the nail to mark when a poet’s words were able to sum me up in a moment in time.

Read the whole post here:

http://bit.ly/1amzG6B

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A poem that secretly spoke to me

  1. Pingback: I’ve Given Larger Tips Because of This Before | findingdoubt

Leave a Reply

